Epiphenomenal Inkling

I saw a man begging on the side of the street and, naturally, I wanted to help. I got the idea that I should start talking to him, and get to know him. I also thought about taking him around the businesses in the area to asking about any work they might have available for him. As I imagined that, I imagined walking into a large corporate building with this man and to inquire about work for him. The response I got was, “Who are you?” I responded, “No one knows who I am, not even myself. If they knew who I was they tremble at the greatness. If you knew what was in each person you too would tremble.”

Hey you! Yeah, you rummaging through the streets of this great city! What would you do if people realized that you were their brother, their sister, their transsexual sibling, or their queer aunt? What are your dreams? Where would you go? What would you do? What are your deepest desires? What do you want right now? I know you don’t want a job right now. You wouldn’t know what to do with one. The truth is most people don’t know what to do with a job, its just that one thing they think they need — just like those diving fins they have in storage, still in the packaging, because they thought the would learn to dive but got too caught up in their job.

Most days, jobs seem like corporate parasites that suck the life out most people; they’re driven by corporations needs and not yours. You just put up with it because everyone else does. One starts to think that there’s no other way. After all, the measly pittance of minimum wage feeds you. Would not having a job be better? My question is, would not having any McDonalds restuarants be a bad thing? Do people need McDonalds? Would society cease to function if they went out of business?

Oh, thanks for bringing me back to you. This isn’t about them. It’s about you. You don’t even care about McDonalds — unless you have a buck or two and some hunger. Again, that wouldn’t be an issue if people were more connected with each other and not split into some unrealistic fractal dimension. If you could be in charge of things for one day, what would you say? If nothing got in your way what would you do? Who would you be? Would you even know? How could you know? Poor orphan, fellow human, universal companion, do you know who you are?

Leave a Reply

