Quick Mediterranean Nachos

I came home from a four mile walk/jog and did my stretches. Hunger came and I wanted something fast. Nachos!, I thought. I didn’t have cheddar or Colby-Jack cheeses, nor the salsa. Quick to think of substitutions, I realized I had feta cheese and spaghetti sauce.

I collected those ingredients, put tortilla chips on a plate, poured a little spaghetti sauce on top, then crumbled some feta cheese on top. I microwaved it for one minute — which could have been a minute and 10 instead. I took them out, let them cool off to a tolerable temperature and dug in.

If I had thought this through a bit more, I would have concocted this:

  • Tortilla chips
  • Pasta Sauce
  • Sliced Mushrooms
  • Chopped Olives (preferably green)
  • Chopped Green Onion
  • Capers
  • Crumbled feta cheese

Hoping that I had created something original, I Googled for “Mediterranean Nachos”. Damn you Betty Crocker! You had to come up with everything first didn’t you. At least my recipe was different than their recipe. Their recipe had diced tomatoes, but no sauce. No mushrooms. No capers. It had sun dried tomatoes — which is a cool idea, but somewhat cliche.

To make a better version of their recipe (IMHO), substitute fresh mozzarella (in brine) for the feta, change out basil for the green onion, hold the olives (if you want), and drizzle wine vinegar and olive oil on top. Actually, hold that thought. I haven’t tried it yet, but it sounds good in theory. If you try it, let me know how it goes…

One thought on “Quick Mediterranean Nachos

Leave a Reply

